Members of the Rainbow taskforce

Contact the Rainbow taskforce

The Rainbow taskforce meets regularly and is happy to hear from members.   

Jerome Cargill - Newlands College
Jerome is in his fifth year of teaching, and has shown leadership on LGBTI issues in his own school including establishing, with the help of his colleagues, a support group for LGBTI students.

Chris Carr - Hutt Valley High School

Shawn Cooper - Avondale College
Kia ora. As a senior specialist teacher of Biology and in my role as the Specialist Classroom Teacher at Avcol, I have the good fortune to work with both staff and students toward creating safe, inclusive and engaging learning environments in which all students can be who they are and strive achieve at the highest levels. Serving as a part of the leadership team for PB4L at my school has assisted me in developing whole school strategies to combat the issues of bullying and exclusion; from the school yard to classrooms, playing fields and the gymnasium where I coach the school volleyball teams. As the current Rainbow Taskforce Convener I have been involved on the steering committee for Pink Shirt Day, participated in the development of the Inside Out teaching and learning resources in collaboration with Rainbow youth and Core Education, and facilitated PPTA Safer Schools for All professional development sessions for schools, university teacher trainees and the Auckland School Nurses Group. I look forward to continuing this PLD and collaborating with other teachers passionate about making a difference or gender and sexually diverse students across Aotearoa.

Ben Mills - Motueka High School

Vinnie Monga - Fairfield College
Kia ora koutou. I am a school guidance counsellor at Fairfield College and the PPTA Executive member for Waikato. I have been on the Taskforce since 2010 and have been privileged in working with committed colleagues. My passion is social justice for all. " Be kind and treat people the way you want to be treated". He aha te mea nui o te ao. He tangata, he tangata, he tangata". No reira tena koutou katoa. 

Cecelia Pakinga - John Paul College

Paul Stevens - Albany Senior High School


Kirsty Farrant (Secretary) - PPTA National Office 

Judie Alison - PPTA National Office

Last modified on Thursday, 1 June 2017 15:35